top of page
Image by Carl Schlabach

About Us

About Us white-02-02.png

Mission Statement

Our mission is to preserve and enhance the scenic character of Ohio’s communities and countryside.

Scenic Ohio is an affiliate of Scenic America. Created in 1933 as the Ohio Roadside Council, Scenic Ohio is the only not-for-profit in Ohio dedicated to protecting and enhancing the visual quality and scenic character of Ohio’s towns and countryside. We seek to educate the public and elected officials about their ability to enact stricter laws to enhance and protect the visual quality of the landscape. Scenic Ohio is an entirely volunteer not-for-profit 501 organization. Join us and help us protect your scenery.

Board Members

Board Members



Gary Meisner, FASLA

Gary Meisner is currently a Landscape Architect, Urban Designer, Planner at Meisner + Associates / Land Vision. He graduated with a Bachelor of Science degree in Landscape Architecture from Michigan State University in 1972, has served as a member of the American Society of Landscape Architects, and serves on the serves on World Heritage Ohio Steering Committee and Governor's Heritage Garden Committee.

2011 jim photo.JPG

Vice Chairman

Jim McGregor

Jim McGregor is currently the Executive Director for the Ohio League of Conservation Votes. He graduated with a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Cincinnati in 1972, and has served as the State Representative for the 20th Ohio House District, Mayor of Gahanna, and Division Chief for the Civilian Conservation Corps for the Ohio Department of Natural Resources. 



Rick Record

Rick Record is currently serving on the Transportation Research Board (TRB) Standing Committee on Landscape Environmental Design. As part of the National Academics of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine, the TRB provides leadership in transportation improvements and innovation. 



Patrick J. Beam, FASLA


Craig Cawrse, FASLA


Robert Cobb, PhD


Bill Hendricks

Bill Purpura.JPG

William Purpura


David Driapsa, FASLA


Image by Roger Starnes Sr

Administrative Services

Debbie Addison


Graphic Design

Janice Radlove


Web Design

Anna Stanley

Contact Us

Contact Us

Thanks for submitting!

bottom of page